Karachi Kings through to play-offs after beating Quetta Gladiators

Karachi Kings Vs Quetta Gladiators

Karachi Kings Vs Quetta Gladiators

At Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Cricket stadium, Karachi Kings defeated Quetta Gladiators by 14 runs in match 29 of the sixth edition of the Pakistan Super League.

Choosing to bat first, the Kings set a 177-run target.

By losing to the Kings, Lahore Qalandars have been eliminated from the tournament and will join the last-placed Gladiators on the sidelines.

Mohammad Ilyas dismissed Saim Ayub (19) with the last ball of the fifth over, giving the Kings their breakthrough. At that point, the Gladiators already looked to be struggling to score big.

Karachi Kings reach play-offs after beating Quetta Gladiators

Arshad Iqbal picked up the second wicket for the Kings in the eighth over when he dismissed Jake Weatherald (25), adding more pressure to Sarfaraz Ahmed’s side.

In the 11th over, Mohammad Ilyas added pressure when he dismissed Usman Khan (15), thanks to a good catch by the Gladiators’ skipper, while Arshad Iqbal took the wicket of Azam Khan (15) in the 13th over.

As Mohammad Amir’s touch of the ball, driven by Sarfaraz, struck the stumps, Hassan Khan was run out for 24.

Ilyas picked up his third wicket in the 18th over when he dismissed Abdul Nasir (0) with an easy catch by Danish Ali.

Sarfaraz Ahmed finished the match with an unbeaten 51 for the Gladiators.

Innings of the Karachi Kings

All-rounder Danish Ali was a crucial player for the Karachi Kings, scoring 45 from 13 balls, which helped his team set a target of 177 for Quetta Gladiators.

The Kings elected to bat first after winning the toss.

After the 10th over, the team started losing wickets. Fortunately, after Ali came in, the wickets stopped falling and the all-rounder helped the team put up a competitive score.

In the 10th over, Abdul Nasir dismissed the Kings’ star batsman Babar Azam (23) with a great catch by Hassan Khan.

In the 11th over, spinner Arish Ali was able to get two wickets – Sharjeel Khan (45) and Martin Guptill (5) – along with Najibullah Zadran (12) and Imad Wasim (3), respectively.

Ali – the batsman who changed the course of the match despite being under immense pressure – was bowled by Khurram Shahzad in the 20th over. Additionally, Mohammad Ilyas (1) was run out on the last ball of the over.

Also, Check Out 

Last Updated on June 19, 2021

Leave a Comment

Disclaimer: This Site is Not Owned/Managed By Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Team, it's for Educational Purposes Only For Pakistan Super League (PSL) Fans and Lovers.Contact us: info@psllivestreamings.com