PSL 2021: Lahore Qalandars defeat Islamabad United by 5 wickets

Lahore Qalandars VS Islamabad United – PSL 2021

Lahore Qalandars defeat Islamabad United

HBL PSL 2021 will resume on Wednesday (today) at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi with the former two-time champions Islamabad United taking on last year’s runners-up Lahore Qalandars. Matches begin at 9 pm PST.

Due to significant issues relating to venue selection, visas, and transport, the country’s marquee event was postponed when only 14 games had been hosted by Karachi in February and March this year after seven foreign players and support staff tested positive for Covid-19.

Overseas players have opted to skip the Abu Dhabi leg for a variety of reasons. Mini drafts were used to select the replacements. In addition, there are a few minor changes to the rules, and now each outfit must field at least two foreign players and a maximum of four in the playing XI.

Islamabad United added Usman Khawaja, Brandon King, and Umar Amin to the roster.

David Wiese, Joe Denly, Shakib-Al-Hasan, Samit Patel and Tom Abell were not available for Lahore Qalandars and they brought in Sri Lanka’s Seekkuge Prasanna, Joe Burns, Sultan Ahmed, Tim David, Callum Ferguson, James Faulkner and world-class leggie Rashid Khan for the Abu Dhabi leg.

Following four matches each, both teams have six points each. It will be interesting to see how they deal with the heat and dew in Abu Dhabi.

Assistant coach Saeed Ajmal is confident Islamabad United will give Lahore Qalandars a tough time. “Yes, our team has been practicing for the last five to six days and it looks like it’s well-prepared to give Qalandars a tough time,” Ajmal said.

“We have held five training sessions both day and night, and the players are in top shape. Hasan Ali is in a good mood and bowling well. Faheem Ashraf is doing well as both a batsman and a bowler. Likewise, Colin Munro is batting well. Ajmal, a former Pakistan off-spinner, said, “The team is ready.”

“We have a good combination and the attitude of our foreign players is excellent as well. We will try our level best to field a very good team,” Sohail Akhtar said at a news conference.

“In T20 cricket, you can’t take any team lightly,” he said.

Multan Sultans’ skipper and Pakistan’s wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan leads the batting chart with 297 runs. He is followed by Karachi Kings’ Babar Azam (258) and Sharjeel Khan (200), Lahore Qalandars’ Fakhar Zaman (189) and Quetta Gladiators skipper Sarfraz Ahmad (185).

Saqib Mahmood, an English paceman for Peshawar Zalmi, tops the bowling chart with 12 wickets. Shaheen Shah Afridi of Lahore Qalandars and Shahnawaz Dhani of Multan Sultans each have nine wickets. Eight wickets have been taken by Zalmi’s skipper Wahab Riaz.

Rashid Riaz and Aleem Dar will serve as on-field umpires, while Shozab Raza will be the third umpire and Faisal Afridi will be the fourth umpire. Referee Muhammad Anees will oversee the match.

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (captain), Ahmed Safi Abdullah, Ali Khan, Akif Javed, Asif Ali, Brandon King, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Akhlaq, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Umar Amin, Usman Khawaja, Zafar Gohar, Zeeshan Zameer

Lahore Qalandars: Sohail Akhtar (captain), Ahmed Danyal, Ben Dunk, Callum Ferguson, Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, James Faulkner, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Rashid Khan, Salman Ali Agha, Seekuge Prasana, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sultan Ahmed, Tim David, Zaid Alam, Zeeshan Ashra.

Also, Check Out 

Last Updated on June 9, 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here